Parks and Recreation Department Home

Petaluma water ways - projects - MARINA REACH

Petaluma Marina

Picture courtesy of Maggie Hohle.

River barges, freight trains, and the freeway cross paths at this historic intersection of railroad and shipping.  Cars zoom overhead on Highway 101 while yachts parade in and out of the Marina, and if you’re lucky, you’ll see a tugboat pushing its load upstream (you’ll have to wait longer to see the railroad swing bridge in action).  A water taxi service could connect the Turning Basin with Foundry Wharf, the Small Craft Center, the Marina, and Shollenberger Park.  It’s a bustling place, and the place you want to be to see the world go by.  The main areas of focus are: the Railroad Bridge Undercrossing, Swingbridge Overlook, Marina Point Overlook, and secluded Rose Garden Slough. 

For details see
Chapter 3.8, Petaluma River Access and Enhancement Plan

Highway 101 Bridge Reconstruction Plan (CalTrans)

SMART rail development plan

28. RIVERFRONT-MARINA TRAIL
  Trail undercrossing of railroad tracks provides connection to Marina and overlook.
29. RAILROAD BRIDGE OVERLOOK
  Interpretive area with seating and fishing access.  Possible site for water-oriented wayfinding sign.
30. MARINA POINT OVERLOOK
  Overlook/interpretive area with seating, improved fishing access.  Possible site for water-oriented wayfinding sign.

 

 

 

 

 

Contact Information

Administrative Offices
320 N McDowell Blvd
Petaluma, CA 94954
Phone: 707.778.4380
Fax: 707.656.4057
Email: parksnrec@ci.petaluma.ca.us
Hours: 8:00am - 5:00pm
Monday - Friday



General Information:
Parks and Rec Front Office: 707.778.4380
Senior Center: 707.778.4399
Field Scheduling: 707.778.4519
Aquatics: 707.778.4410
Marina: 707.778.4489



Secretaries:
Allison Cresci
707.778.4386
acresci@ci.petaluma.ca.us

 

Makayla Gouveia
707.778.4412
mgouveia@ci.petaluma.ca.us

 

Recreation Coordinators:
Sandra Kraus (Senior Center, Special Events)
707.778.4349
skraus@ci.petaluma.ca.us

 

Jeremy Parker (Sports, Aquatics, Fields)
707.778.4519
jparker@ci.petaluma.ca.us

 

Amy Rich (Youth Programs, Camps, Contract Classes)
707.778.4336
arich@ci.petaluma.ca.us

 

Recreation Supervisor:
Drew Halter
707.778.4488
dhalter@ci.petaluma.ca.us